Diet for Person Allergic to Soy Products

The soybean, classified as a legume, causes allergies in some sensitive people. These individuals may be only allergic to soy, or to other legumes such as peanuts and peas. Anyone who is allergic to soy should avoid all soy and soy products in the diet, as well as other potential legume allergens to avoid a reaction.
  1. Soy-Allergen Diet

    • If you are allergic to soybeans and soy products, the only way to prevent a reaction is to avoid eating anything made from soy. Some people allergic to soy may be able to tolerate items cooked in that oil because of how soy oil is processed. Ask your doctor whether you should avoid soy oil in addition to other soy products.

      Check labels on processed foods such as baked goods and cereal to see whether they contain soybeans or soy products. Some cereals advertised as "natural" may contain soy mixed in with the other grains. Watch for soy products in canned or frozen vegetables with sauce, as some of those preparations may contain soy. Canned soups and processed entrées often contain soy products. Avoid these, and prepare your own fresh foods from scratch instead. Avoid instant coffee, hot-chocolate mix and malt. Choose brewed coffee and tea, soft drinks and juices instead.

      Meat producers commonly use soy as a meat extender in deli meats and sausages. Avoid processed meats and meat substitutes that may contain soy. Do not eat tofu, bean curd, or anything containing textured vegetable protein, as these are soy products. Choose lean meats instead, and prepare them in your own kitchen using herbs and seasoning blends not containing soy.

      Many prepared condiments, including gravy, margarine, salad dressing, steak sauce and even peanut butter may contain soy products. Do not eat anything that contains soy sauce, soybeans, soy protein, tamari, miso or natto. If there is no allergen warning listed on the label, contact the manufacturer to find out whether ingredients such as hydrolyzed vegetable or plant proteins contain soy. Any type of vegetable gum, starch or broth may be made from soy.

      In a restaurant, let your server and the chef or manager know you are allergic to soy. Ask for your food to be made without any soy-based condiments or sauces. Check the full-ingredient listing if there is any doubt. Keep in mind that many people with soy allergies may also be sensitive to peanuts and other legumes, so avoid beans as well.

Allergies - Related Articles