How to Avoid Casein

Casein is a milk protein that is found naturally in dairy products and as an additive in many other food items. People avoid casein for a variety of reasons. It is an allergic trigger for many folks. Vegans avoid casein to remove all animal products from their diets. Some medical studies show a link between casein and autism symptoms, causing many parents to try a casein-free diet for their autistic children, according to Healing Thresholds:Connecting Community and Science to Heal Autism.

Instructions

    • 1

      Learn the terms that indicate the presence of casein in a food product: milk, butter, cheese, whey, casein, lactalbumin, lactaglobulin and lactose.

    • 2

      Read the labels of all packaged foods. Food labels in the U.S. are required to call attention to common allergens, so look for the phrases "contains milk" or "milk products."

    • 3

      At the deli, request a clean knife or slicing blade when purchasing meat. Many delis use the same blades for both cheese and meat.

    • 4

      In restaurants, tell your waiter or waitress that you have a food allergy and cannot have any dairy products. Restaurants often finish steaks with a pat of butter, or toss it with steamed vegetables where it is invisible at the table.

    • 5

      Politely inform friends and family that you cannot eat casein when dining at their homes. If appropriate, provide a list of easily prepared dishes that you can eat without concern.

Digestive Health - Related Articles