Diets for Celiac Disease
Celiac disease is a digestive disorder in which the consumption of gluten triggers an immune-system reaction that damages the small intestine and creates an inability to absorb some nutrients. Symptoms of celiac disease include abdominal pain, bloating and diarrhea. Gluten is a protein contained in wheat, rye, barley and triticale, a hybrid of wheat and rye. To effectively treat and manage celiac disease, eliminate all forms of gluten from your diet.-
Avoiding Gluten
-
Wheat, barley and rye, three of the grains that contain gluten, are very prevalent in our food sources. Gluten is found in breads, pastas, cereals, cookies, crackers, pies, cakes, pastries, gravies and sauces. Even grains that do not naturally contain gluten---such as quinoa, amaranth and buckwheat---can be contaminated with the protein during harvesting and processing. It's best to buy grains from food manufacturers that certify their products are gluten free.
Meats
-
Protein sources such as meats, poultry, fish and seafood are safe choices for people with celiac disease. However, it's important to ensure that these foods are not exposed to gluten during preparation. Breading and many marinades contain gluten and should be avoided unless you know them to be gluten free.
Gluten-Free Flours
-
Many flours are available that do not naturally contain gluten, including rice, potato, corn and soy flours. These products can be used for cooking and baking. In addition, there are now several food manufacturers that specialize in producing gluten-free versions of foods. Check your grocery store or a health-food store for a selection of gluten-free foods.
Other Gluten-Free Foods
-
All fruits and vegetables are naturally free of glutin and are safe for people with celiac disease. Most dairy products are also gluten-free, as are most soy-based foods. However, it's important to make sure the foods are not exposed to gluten during preparation or processing. Read labels carefully; more and more food producers are stating whether their foods are gluten free or processed in a gluten-free environment.
-