How do you know if a product has gluten in it?

Check the ingredients list:

* Look for any of the following ingredients derived from wheat, rye or barley:

- Wheat

- Flour

- Semolina

- Bulgur

- Spelt

- Farina

- Semolina

- Rye

- Barley

- Malt

- Brewer’s Yeast

- Wheat Germ

- Durum

- Kamut

- Einkorn

- Triticale

Be aware of hidden sources:

* Some foods may not contain any of these ingredients but still be contaminated with gluten. Examples include:

- Sauces and dressings

- Spices

- Soups

Look for a gluten-free label:

* Products that are certified gluten-free will usually have a label on the packaging. This means that the product has been tested and contains less than 20 parts per million of gluten.

Ask the manufacturer:

* If you are unsure whether a product contains gluten or not, you can always contact the manufacturer and ask them.

Diabetic Diets - Related Articles