Gluten Free Diet to Help Gas & Digestion
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley products. Because gluten is found in these types of grains, it is also found in things made from these grains such as crackers, pasta and breads. Gluten can also be found in products that use wheat, barley and rye as filler such as soups and processed meats. Unfortunately, many individuals have gluten allergies or intolerance that produce intestinal discomfort, making it necessary to avoid these foods entirely.-
Gluten Allergies and Intolerances
-
Individuals with gluten and allergy intolerance will have symptoms that include indigestion, gas, diarrhea and constipation. In these people, the gluten causes damage to the lining of the intestine. An allergy to gluten typically involves an immune response, and can be determined with a blood test. An intolerance to gluten can be just as unpleasant symptomatically but is more difficult to pinpoint. People with gluten allergies and intolerance can eliminate gluten from their diets and reduce their symptoms while improving digestion. It is also important to note that gluten allergies and intolerance are often linked to intolerance and allergies of the protein casein, which is found in milk and dairy products. If eliminating gluten only does not resolve digestive issues, eliminating casein too may be necessary.
Eliminating Gluten
-
To determine whether avoiding gluten will alleviate symptoms of gas and indigestion, an elimination diet is recommended. This type of diet involves entirely eliminating gluten from the diet, seeing whether the symptoms disappear, reintroducing gluten and seeing if the symptoms re-appear. Avoiding gluten is difficult because it can appear in so many different foods unexpectedly. In fact, many labels state specifically that they contain wheat or gluten products. It is important to educate yourself as to the products that are gluten-free. In many grocery stores, there are sections dedicated to such products. It is also important to note that many nonfood items (e.g., vitamins, stamp adhesives, shampoos) can contain gluten.
Gluten-Free Diet
-
It is possible to eliminate gluten from the diet completely and still live a normal life. Grains are available from which bread, crackers, and pasta can be made including cornmeal, buckwheat, soy and quinoa. Although oats do not naturally contain gluten, they are often processed on the same equipment as wheat products and so can contain gluten. Gluten-free oats are available, however. Health food stores often cater to individuals wishing to exclude gluten (and various other things) from their diet, so when first starting on a gluten-free diet visiting your local health food store may help educate you to which foods are safe choices.
-