Foods That Contain Gluten
Gluten is a protein found in many foods. It helps food keep its shape. Gluten is found in most grains and preservatives like MSG. Some types of alcohol contain gluten.-
Foods Containing Gluten
-
Wheat, wheat germ, wheat grass, rye, barley, bulgar, couscous, farina, graham flour, kamut, matzo, seitan, semolina and spelt all contain gluten. Oats are OK unless prepared around contaminated materials.
Check Labels
-
The Food and Drug Administration doesn't require manufacturers to list gluten as part of a food's ingredients. Double check the labels of imitation meats, sauces, thickeners, pastas and breads. Gluten-free labels are not always accurate. Do your homework. Read labels for the grains and foods you know to contain gluten.
Alcohol
-
Most alcohol is made from gluten, but the distilling process removes it. Beer, ale and lager still contain gluten.
Other items
-
Play-Doh, some lipsticks and some toothpastes also contain gluten.
Gluten intolerance
-
Celiac disease is when the body cannot digest gluten. Monitoring your diet is the only treatment. Read labels carefully. Avoid cross contamination while handling food.
-