List of Food That Cannot Be Eaten on a Gluten-Free Diet
Cooking and eating can become a frustrating situation when you have to remove gluten from your diet. Celiac disease is a medical condition in which consuming gluten, a protein found in certain grains, causes damage to the small intestines, resulting in unpleasant side effects such as constipation, diarrhea, stomach cramps and fatigue. The symptoms can be controlled by consuming a gluten-free diet.-
Grains
-
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut and triticale -- a cross between wheat and rye. However, even other safe flours may be processed or mixed with gluten-containing grains. You cannot eat white or wheat bread, and most breakfast cereals are not safe, either. Grain products that contain gluten in their tradition form include bagels, pretzels, pizza dough, crackers, cookies, cereal bars, rolls, pasta, pancakes, muffins, biscuits, croutons, stuffing and breading. Only buy grain products labeled "gluten-free" to be safe.
Meat
-
Meat and dairy products are naturally gluten free, but a problem arises when gluten-containing marinades, breading and sauces are added that contain gluten. Only consume meat at restaurants that offer a gluten-free menu, as meat sources that you may think are safe to eat may be cooked or handled with foods containing gluten, resulting in cross-contamination. Processed meats such as hot dogs, bacon, imitation seafood and lunch meats contain gluten.
Fruits and Vegetables
-
Fruits and vegetables do not contain gluten. However, when you add seasonings, breading, dressings or sauces to them, you run the chance of adding a source of gluten. Avoid any vegetable that has been fried because it contains breading, which is not gluten-free. Fruits that have been baked into a pie or cobbler should not be consumed. Canned fruits and vegetables have preservatives that contain gluten, check the label before purchase. If you see hydrolyzed vegetable protein or textured vegetable protein on the ingredient list, then the product contains gluten.
Considerations
-
Read labels carefully -- commonly overlooked ingredients containing gluten are brown rice syrup, dextrin, caramel color, malt flavoring, soy sauce and oats. When in doubt, avoid the food you're questioning. When cooking, make sure that you prepare gluten-free foods on a separate surface from gluten-containing foods to avoid cross-contamination. You will even need a different toaster for your gluten-free bread. When eating away from home look for restaurants that offer a gluten-free menu. You may want to consult with a registered dietitian, who can instruct you on how to avoid gluten while still eating a healthy diet if you have additional questions.
-