What Foods Have Whey?

Whey is a watery substance left over after milk is curdled during the process of making cheese. It contains about 5 percent lactose as well as water-soluble minerals and vitamins. Some people are intolerant to the dried whey used in some processed cheese, candy and baked items. Whey may be listed as beta-lactoglobulin, immunoglobulin, glycomacropeptide (GMP), bovine serum albumin (BSA), alpha-lactalbumin, lactoferrin, lactoperoxidase, lipases, transferrin or lysozyme.
  1. Breads

    • Whey is used in a number of baked goods as a substitute for fat or eggs. It improves the product's browning qualities, reduces the effects of staling and enhances the emulsification of fat. Check the label on breaded products from manufacturers such as Cole's, Home Pride, Great Harvest Bread Company and Van's Natural Foods, as some of them, in the past, have contained whey.

    Cheese

    • Rennet is a substance extracted from the stomachs of cows, sheep and goats. It is used to coagulate milk and form the curds and whey used to make cheese. Normally the resulting whey is discarded. Some cheeses, however, are made with whey, including ricotta, Parmesan and Norwegian goat cheese. Dairy farmers may also use whey to give their products some of the properties of milk without its associated cost.

    Cereals

    • Many cereals contain whey protein, the more soluble of milk's two proteins. According to the Whey Protein Institute, whey is the most nutritious protein available and contains all the essential amino acids. Cereal bars may contain whey protein isolate, the most pure form of whey with little fat or lactose content. Manufacturers such as Kellogg's, Quaker and Post have all used whey in their products.

    Drinks

    • Milk-containing drinks contain whey. These include Amarula, Baileys Original Irish Cream and McDonald's thick shakes. Non-milk drinks may also contain whey, as dairy farmers sometimes use it as a cheap way to add sweetness. Whey may be listed as dairy whey, sweet dairy whey or whey powder on a drink's ingredients label.

Nutrition - Related Articles