What Foods Can't Vegetarians Eat?

Most people understand vegetarians simply as people who don't eat meat. Indeed, most vegetarians do not eat meat, but because each person has his own reasons for being vegetarian, there are several different types of vegetarianism, each with its own set of dietary restrictions.
  1. Types

    • Several common types of vegetarianism include ovo vegetarianism, lacto vegetarianism, ovo-lacto vegetarianism, veganism and pescetarianism.

    Ovo, Lacto and Ovo-Lacto Vegetarianism

    • Ovo vegetarians do not eat meat or dairy products, but will eat eggs and foods with eggs in them. Lacto vegetarians do not eat meat or eggs, but will eat dairy products and foods that contain dairy products. Ovo-lacto vegetarians do not eat meat but will eat eggs, dairy products and foods that contain both eggs and dairy products.

    Pescetarianism

    • Pescetarians eat no meat except for fish. They eat vegetables, grains and usually egg and dairy products, although this varies for each individual.

    Veganism (Strict Vegetarianism)

    • Vegans eat plants and grains only. They eat no meat, including fish, and no egg or dairy products. Most do not eat honey.

    Fun Facts

    • Most vegetarians avoid foods that aren't generally understood to contain animal products. For example, many products contain gelatin, an animal protein that is derived from bones and skin. These products include Jello, marshmallows, some yogurts, some dry-roasted peanuts, candies such as jelly beans and gummy bears, and some capsules used in vitamin supplements and medicines.

      Many vegetarians also avoid using products and wearing clothing, belts and shoes made of animal hides and skins.

    Warning

    • It is important that vegetarians pay close attention to their diets to ensure that they get enough protein, calcium, vitamin B-12, iron and zinc in their diets. Also, people with special dietary needs should always consult their health care providers before changing their diets.

Nutrition - Related Articles