Tips on How to Start a Dairy-Free Diet
A dairy-free diet is a necessity for people with a milk allergy or lactose intolerance. Milk, cheese, butter and ice cream are a few foods that contain dairy. Since milk products are often an ingredient in foods, there are several other foods that need to be eliminated as well, such as baked goods and some deli meats. Always consult a health care professional before significantly changing your diet. Here are a few tips for getting started on a dairy-free diet.-
Learn What Foods Contain Dairy
-
There are certain foods that are well known to contain dairy, such as milkshakes and ice cream. Milk or parts of milk are also added into a variety of food products. Many baked goods, like pancakes, muffins and crackers might contain dairy ingredients. When making baked goods at home, you can substitute water or fruit juice for milk in most recipes. Chocolate or cream candies will also contain dairy. Certain dry cereals or granola might also contain milk powders. There are surprising sources also, such as non-dairy creamers and some sausages.
Read Food Labels
-
It is important to read food labels because dairy can be hidden in several types of foods. Any foods regulated by the Food and Drug Administration are required to declare major food allergens on the food's label. Milk is considered a major food allergen which must be clearly stated on the container. It is still wise to check the ingredient list for any dairy derivatives. These include whey, casein and caseinates, lactalbumins, lactoferrin, and lactulose.
Try Milk Substitutes
-
There are milk substitutes available that do not contain dairy. Soy is a common alternative for milk, cheese and yogurt products. Soy is safe to use if you are not allergic to it. Almond is another alternative for milk and cheese products, as is rice. Be careful to avoid goat milk and sheep milk, as these can also cause an allergic reaction. The protein in these types of milk are similar to cow's milk protein.
Take a Calcium Supplement
-
A calcium supplement may be needed on a dairy-free diet. Most people obtain the majority of their calcium intake from dairy products. It is recommended to consult with a health care professional about whether or not a calcium supplement is needed. If you do not take a supplement, make sure you get calcium from non-dairy foods. Good calcium choices for non-dairy foods include dark leafy vegetables, fish with small bones (sardines), and fortified juices.
-