Fruits That Contain Glycerin
Glycerin has many beneficial properties, most notably the fact that it is non-toxic to humans. This makes it a popular addition to a wide range of commercial products, including candy, medications and cosmetics. In fact, there is a good chance you have already used or consumed a product containing glycerin today. While there are no fresh fruits that contain any glycerin, most dried fruit have glycerin added during processing to maintain moistness and shelf-life.-
Background
-
Glycerin (also called glycerine or glycerol) is a thick, colorless, odorless liquid that is a by-product of the soap-making process. Animal or vegetable fats are mixed with a strong alkaline solution (commonly called lye) in a process called saponification. This process produces metal salts (sodium or potassium salts), which are a crude form of soap and leaves behind a by-product mixture that contains glycerin.
Glycerin's high sugar content makes it ideal as a sweetener in candies and cookies, and it's ability to maintain a smooth texture is the reason why it is added to ice cream and used as the base of toothpaste. The cosmetics industry uses glycerin in creams and lotions to replenish moisture, and the pharmaceutical industry uses the thick liquid as the base for cough syrups.
Glycerin in Fruit
-
There are no fresh fruits that naturally contain glycerin. However, most dried fruits (raisins, apricots, prunes etc.) have had glycerin added during processing. One of glycerin's most useful properties is as a hygroscope, which means that it absorbs moisture from the air. When dried fruits are soaked in glycerin, they stay slightly chewy and don't become brittle over time. For products that contain dried fruit, such as cereal, the addition of glycerin also keeps any excess moisture in the fruit from moving into the cereal, which extends shelf-life and maintains quality.
Vegetarian Concerns
-
Glycerin is typically produced using animal fats, however, it is also derived from non-animal sources. Coconut and palm oils are common sources of vegetable glycerin, which are considered vegetarian-friendly. Most products do not have glycerin source information printed on their label or packaging, so it is best to inquire from the manufacturer before using the product if there is concern.
-