Gluten Free Vegetarian Foods

Maintaining a gluten free diet, or being a vegetarian each on their own requires effort, research and creativity. Combine the two, and it may seem that maintaining a gluten free vegetarian diet is impossible. With a little research, it is actually easier than you might think. You just need to find a way to replace the grains that have gluten with an alternative that doesn't.
  1. Grains

    • Rice noodles

      Grains are the primary source for gluten, but there are many gluten free choices. Crackers, cereals, breads and pastas made from buckwheat, hemp, hops, alfalfa, rice, arrowroot, corn, potato flour, rice flour, rice bran, soya flour, soya, soya bran, tapioca and sago should be gluten free. You can also try quinoa pasta. Avoid pasta, crackers, breads and cereal made from semolina, whole wheat, whole meal, wheat meal, wheat bran, barley, rye, rye flour and pearl barley.

    Dairy

    • Rice pudding is gluten free

      Many vegetarians still include dairy in their diet, so if they need to go gluten free, this is another area where they will need to be mindful. Generally, dairy products are gluten free, but some yogurts, puddings and cheese spreads can contain gluten. Tapioca, rice pudding, eggs, milk, butter and cheese are gluten free. Sago and most custards are typically gluten free as well.

    Proteins

    • Veggie burger on the grill

      Proteins are an important part of a healthy diet, but finding meatless gluten free food can be tricky. Nuts, eggs, tofu, tempeh and beans are all great gluten free sources of protein. That said, you must check all processed food labels because often gluten is added to them for preservation. There are gluten free veggie burgers available, for instance, Sunshine Burgers make two different frozen veggie burgers.

    Fruits and Veggies

    • Fresh fruits and vegetables are gluten free

      It is also important to remember that you can have plenty of fruits and veggies when you are on a gluten free vegetarian diet. Fruits and veggies are naturally gluten free, so if you buy them fresh, they are a no-fuss diet staple.

Nutrition - Related Articles