Oatmeal & Gluten Free Diet
A gluten-free diet is a diet of elimination, whereby you strive to remove all sources of the gluten from your diet, according to information from the gluten-free diet website Glutenfree.com. The purpose of a gluten-free diet is to treat allergies or intolerance to this common substance--diseases which can be treated (in whole or in part) through a gluten-free diet include celiac disease, ADHD and autism, among others. One point of controversy in the structure of a gluten-free diet, which should be considered involves oats (and oatmeal).-
Gluten Free Diet
-
Consume a diet that is completely without any level of gluten to comply with the maxims of a gluten-free diet. This is more difficult than it sounds, as gluten is a type of protein, which occurs in any number of different grains, in addition to being used in a variety of other foods as an additive. According to the Mayo Clinic, grains containing gluten include rye, wheat and barley--three of the most commonly seen ingredients in food--along with more obtuse grains such as kasha, matzo, spelt, durham, farina, kamut and triticale. The most common foods containing gluten are breads, crackers, pasta, cookies, cake, pie, cereal and candy, along with items such as gravy, soup, all types of sauces, beer, processed meat and imitation seafood. Individuals on a gluten-free diet should base their food consumption around fresh fruits and vegetables, fresh meats and natural seafood, and healthy fats like oils, nuts and seeds. Although this might seem a limited diet, it is a healthy manner of eating that is perfectly safe to follow year-round.
Gluten-Free and Oats
-
Understand the problem with consuming oats while on a gluten-free diet to make an informed decision on whether they are appropriate for your gluten-free lifestyle. While oats do not expressly contain gluten in and of themselves, oats are often processed in close quarters with other grains that contain gluten, making the risk of cross-contamination quite high. Thus it is a better idea to wholly avoid oats as well if you do not have a reliable source that is guaranteed gluten-free. Even if you have a gluten-free source of oats, the Celiac Sprue Association recommends that you still exercise caution, consuming no more than 50 g per day and only doing so as long as you do not exhibit any adverse side effects therefrom.
-