Types of Protein Powder

Protein is an important part of your daily diet, and it can come from animal or plant sources. Protein powders will increase your protein intake but may not have all the benefits of natural protein consumption through unprocessed foods. Consult your doctor before making any major dietary changes, as your body produces waste when it processes protein, which can increase kidney strain in those with kidney disease.
  1. Whey Protein

    • Whey is a protein derived from milk, so this protein powder may not be suitable for people with lactose intolerance. If you are allergic to dairy, avoid whey protein. Whey is a byproduct of the process of making cheese, and cheesemakers originally discarded it as waste until the dairy industry found other uses for it, such as protein supplements. Like many other protein powders, whey protein comes in concentrate and isolate form. Concentrates contain more fats and carbohydrates in general, and in whey protein, concentrate forms contain more lactose. Protein isolates are about 90 percent pure protein, compared to 70 to 85 percent in concentrates. Whey protein powder isn't filling and is therefore better for bodybuilding than weight loss.

    Other Dairy Proteins

    • Casein proteins make up the rest of the proteins in milk that aren't in the whey. The protein digests slowly, feels very filling, and is best for building muscle because of the way your body processes this protein. Complete milk protein may be available in your area as well. It contains both whey and casein proteins and is high in calcium. If you are allergic to cow's milk but can tolerate other dairy sources, look for goat's milk protein powders at specialty natural or health food stores.

    Egg Protein

    • Eggs are a naturally high source of protein. Powder made from egg proteins may be whole egg, containing both white and yolk, or egg albumen, which is the white part only. Egg albumen protein supplements contain less cholesterol than whole egg powders. You may also notice a less "eggy" taste in your protein powder mixes when you use the egg white powder, compared to whole egg.

    Vegetable Proteins

    • Soy protein comes in standard and isolate form. This plant-based protein is good for vegetarians and dieters looking to add protein without fats and cholesterol. Soy digests rapidly, but your system does not digest it completely. Manufacturers chemically alter soy protein isolate to be more digestible so your body can use the protein more fully, but the quality of protein is not as high as the standard form. For vegetarians with soy allergies or who want an alternative to soy, pea protein is an excellent alternative. For vegetarians and dieters without any gluten issues, wheat protein is vegan and cholesterol-free as well.

Nutritional Supplements - Related Articles