|  | Diet Nutrition | Vitamins

How to Get B12 as a Vegan

B12 is often thought of as the vegan's dilemma. It is famously found in animal products such as meat and dairy, and is a necessary ingredient for neurological function, DNA synthesis and the formation of red blood cells. So how does one in the meat- and dairy-free community incorporate this essential vitamin into his or her diet? Fortified foods are key. The following are a few suggestions to help you stay chock full of B12.

Instructions

  1. How to Get B12 as a Vegan

    • 1

      Have cereal and a milk substitute for breakfast. Upon inspection, you'll find that breakfast cereals are fortified with B12. Check your milk substitute---whether it's rice, soy or nut milk, chances are it's fortified as well.

    • 2

      Purchase a fortified nutritional yeast. These are thin flakes that have a cheesy taste to them, but they are vegan. Sprinkle these tasty toppings on anything you eat--salads, potatoes and just about any side dish. Verify on the label that it includes B12, as some brands aren't fortified.

    • 3

      Indulge in an energy drink. Red Bull, Monster and Rockstar give you a hearty dose of B vitamins.

    • 4

      Take a supplement. Try a B12 supplement or a daily multivitamin that contains B12. If you prefer a powder form of vitamin, try Emergen-C.

    • 5

      Be a good label checker. While investigating labels to see if food is animal-free, note if it's fortified with B12 or not. Sometimes you may be surprised and find that it is.

Vitamins - Related Articles